Photo Friday- Grandparents

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

photofriday.gif

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Grandparents

I am breaking the rules with this photo Friday. Neither picture was taken by me. The 1st one my Uncle Ron took. The second one was sent to me by my cousin Spatualahandle.

Grandparents… Oh what bittersweet memories that word holds for me. I am going to show you my photo first but then you can decide if you want to read the rest of my jibberish about my grandparents.

This photo was taken on the day of my first marriage taken 15 yrs ago. Next to me is my dad’s parents, M&M. Next to my first husband is my mom’s mom Vi. Her husband’s photo will be further down the page.

grandparents

My favorite memory of my grandparents M&M was a walk that we took around the road in the desert neighborhood we lived in. I was about 5 yrs old and I stumbled and fell into some cactus. My grandma picked me up, brushed me off, and told me we would wash the dirt out of my knees when we got home. We continued to walk and pick flowers (yes flowers grow in the desert) and as we were coming down their driveway my Grandma fell sprawled in the dirt. She laughed a little laugh looked at her bleeding hand and said “Now we match…we will always have these scars to remember this walk and our time together”. I still have the small scars on my knees, and when she died I have to admit looking at her hand and seeing that scar still there and remembering.

My Grandma Vi always laughed and I can still hear her laugh now as I write this. We were always close. I have many memories of her but my favorite is one night I got up to use the bathroom while I was staying at her house. The bathroom was right next to her bedroom. There, in her white nightgown, down on her knees, in the middle of her red bedroom next to her bed, I saw my grandmother praying. It is an image I will never ever forget. She was praying for every one of her family members by name. Including her grandchildren. In later years, I would hear her praying each name through the night before she went to sleep.

Here is a photo of my Grandpa Harry:

0607-007

As you can read in my sister’s post in the comments, he was a jokester. One day he came to our house and everyone was there including my Grandpa and Grandma M&M. He told a joke:

Q: What does a man do standing up, a woman do sitting down, and a dog do on three legs?

A: Shake Hands!

Well, someone didn’t understand the joke, so my grandfather demonstrated. My grandma M also was demonstrating with him. I will never forget the sight of my Grandpa Harry and my Grandma M down on their hands and knees in the middle of our living room with a leg sticking up in the air demonstrating how a dog shakes hands….Of course it also looked a lot like a dog peeing.

Another funny memory was a game we all played called Lucky Ducky or something like that. I don’t even remember how the game is played but you go around a living room blindfolded with a pillow in your hands and you find a lap to sit on. You have to place your pillow in the lap and then sit on the pillow and say “Ducky Lucky” and the person whose lap your sitting on goes “Quack Quack” and you have to guess whose lap you were on.

My grandfather would laugh to the point of not being able to breathe when we played that game. He would just roar with laughter.

Thanks for sharing these memories with me.

6 Responses

  1. What lovely photos and memories. You look so beautiful on your wedding day – and the groom loks very handsome too. When looking at old photos (particularly of a first marriage that ended in disaster) it is hard not to think of the innocent hope at the time and then the devastating hurt afterwards. I guess you experienced both of these posting this pic. (((((hugs)))))

    And your grandparents look lovely. I think we are very lucky to have known our grandparents – many don’t get that wonderful opportunity to peep into the past with shared memories from a different generation.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Gramma B called me once after I hurt my knee, my dad was visiting it was when grandpa was sick. I told her what I did and she said “Awww,are you just trying to keep up with your grandma?” and we laughed.

    I’ll never forget the time that gramma and grampa went to the zoo with us, in Albuquerque. I think I was maybe five or so. He walked up to a fence where a llama was standing, got up in it’s face and it spit all over his face. He laughed so hard and I am sure that llama was laughing too. It was so funny! He talked about that for years after it happened.

    did you ever play Blew It with grandpa and grandma, mom and dad and us kids used to spend hours playing that game…you know they have a game just like it out on the market now, I can’t remember what they call it but it comes with six dice and the same scoring system as we did when we played. I will have to look up the name for you…I automatically thought of them when I saw it in a Current catalog.

    I love all the memories…

  3. that is some great memories. I do remember playing game with grandpa I thank we played a game on the way to va it was called under the Sheets you find a sing the you say the name then you say under the sheets. we had a great time. I can see grandpa b and grandma m on there hand and knees doing that. lol

  4. I’ll be back later to see yours. I’ve only just managed to post mine too. I’ve had a crazy bitch of a week – got snowed in and couldn’t get home for 3 days.

Leave a Reply

