80’s Monday

One of my favorite Christmas songs today was created in the 80’s. It is fun to see how young these artists look in this video. Copied straight from the video:

The 1984 single, with all the greatest British musicians singing for famine relief.

On November 25th 1984, dozens of British rockers arrived at SARM West studio in London to record a single track. The result? One incredible song and 14 million dollars to help feed the people of Ethiopia.

Released on November 29th 1984, Do They Know It’s Christmas? was the brainchild of Bob Geldof (Boomtown Rats) and Midge Ure (Ultravox).
After seeing a news report on the famine in Ethiopia, Geldof called Ure to help him write a song to help raise awareness and money for the cause. With Geldof writing the lyrics, and Ure doing the tune and arrangement, they quickly came up with Do They Know It’s Christmas?.
After enlisting a group of well known musicians, they set straight to work in order to have the single ready for release.
The single was released to the public on December 3rd 1984. It went straight to number one on the UK charts and stayed there for 5 weeks.

December 15, 2008

“Do They Know It’s Christmas” by Band Aid

1984

5 Responses

  1. Love that song, always have

  2. Cool. The weirdest thing is that they have Boy George, Sting, George Michael, Bono, and Phil Collins in the group, but somehow Paul Young ended ended up as the featured singer. Very odd.

  3. I love the Wii Fit. It’s great fun and a good value. As a long-time Wii Fit user I can tell you that you’re better off going to the gym, but if you want to make exercise fun the Wii Fit is the ticket. I’m a regular exerciser but didn’t start losing the weight until I began watching what I eat. The free calorie counter from http://www.freecaloriereport.com/ does a great job. I use the Windows Mobile version. Did I mention that it’s also FREE!
    After several months I primarily use my Wii Fit as a glorified scale and workout on a treadmill and BowFlex. For weight loss however, you can’t beat calorie counting.

    I also love the wii fit, and like you say, it isn’t a workout program. myfitnesspal.com also has a free calorie counter and it is what I use. I have a gym at work I work out on.

  4. I still love this song!!!!

  5. Two for one, 80’s and Christmas. 😉 Nice job and good song choice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

