A very special Photo Friday!

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

photofriday.gif

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Bridges

If you are a participant please link back to your Photo Friday using Mr. Linky below:

You can view other participants entries at:

I had some great photos of some bridges I wanted to share with you. You can see them by clicking on my side bar. Today I wanted to do Bridges a little different. See, today is a very bittersweet day for me. Two years ago, my Baby Girl, age 10 was diagnosed with cancer.

I have been thinking a lot about that day. I have been thinking how far we have come since that awful day. Our world changed that day. It has never been the same. I started thinking about how 2 years ago I stood with everything familiar around me. I knew my way around. I was in control. In an instant, the ground dropped from under me.

God, Family, Friends, this Blog, all of it has acted as a bridge over the last 2 years. We have slowly, precariously, made our way across this deep chasam and this year we have found ourselves on the other side, entering new land. We have taken off running, exploring, and remembering.

I want to take this time to share with you a video I made, celebrating the last two years and how much Baby Girl has overcome. I want to remember Jan, who has faced the same cancer as Baby Girl, and for staying a true friend to both of us. I look to her for guidance more than anyone every knows. She is my sister across the pond. This is for my grandfather who we lost 19 yrs ago. This is for my Uncle Ed, diagnosed 5 years ago and whom we lost a short season later. This is for Elena, Kristin, Sierra, Elizabeth, and all those who are still fighting this fight.

I Run For Life!

17th October:CuriousCs choice Bridges / Arches

24th October: Eiain’s choice – Paws for thought

31st October: Author’s choice – Halloween!

7th November: Tina’s choice – Action Shots

14th November: Author’s choice – Windows (unusual or favourite windows, in your own home, or other homes, or churches, buildings etc – you may even include the view through a window. This can be a selection of photos or just one favourite pic)

8 Responses

  1. Bridges are meant to get you over difficult, even impassable terrain. We owe a lot of people a lot of thanks for being that bridge for us.

    It’s good to feel like we’re finally on the other side of this chasm.

  2. My face is wet wtih tears. I am so happy for you all. I love the video…….

  3. Great video t

  4. nicely done T- i like how u used grampa’s red underware/firehat pic for this lol-and give your little survivor a big hug from all of us

  5. The tears are flowing…this was very beautiful.

  6. Can you delete the first Mr Linky I did – it linked to the wrong post. Ta!

  7. […] humbly dedicate this post to Baby Girl. Tall T’s post/Photo Friday entry will tell you […]

  8. Tall T,

    This is the most beautiful and touching video I’ve ever watched on a blog. It saddened me, it made me cry, yet it made me smile, it made me feel proud, it inspired me, it gave me hope that the human spirit can fight back, overcome and survive – and then go forward in such a brave way to help others.

    I am so proud of baby Girl that I cannot put it into words. In fact. I’m so proud of you ALL.

    Thank you for for thinking of me as your “sister across the pond” – you have no idea how proud that makes me feel.

    Blessings to your grandfather and Uncle Ed, may they RIP. Blessings also to Elena, Kristin, Sierra, Elizabeth, and all those who are still fighting this fight too – and to the families and friends who are fighting with them.

    I am humbled by this post.

    I’m going to look at the photos now – but the video and post will eclipse even the most stunning of photos.

    Love to you ALL – and especially Baby Girl today.

Leave a Reply

