Photo Friday- Music

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

photofriday.gif

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Music

If you are a participant please link back to your Photo Friday using Mr. Linky below:

You can view other participants entries at:

Marc was the first boy that was ever my “boyfriend”. I met him in 6th grade and we were definitely an ‘odd’ couple. I was already about 5’8 in the 6th grade, and Marc was under 4’5. His head came to my chest….eye level in fact. Hrmmmm maybe that is why he liked me so much.

Anyway, while Marc was my boyfriend he announced to me that he was going to join band at school. Of course I wanted to join too so I could be with him. He decided to play trumpet, so I announced to my mother that I would also love to play the trumpet. My dad took me across town and rented a trumpet.

By the time band started, we had broken up. I had this trumpet and I didn’t want to let my parents down so I joined anyway. Marc and I ignored each other the rest of the year.

In 7th grade, I decided to learn piano instead, until I found out the Band teacher was the coolest teacher in the school…. I joined again in 8th grade. I soon discovered I was good enough to move to 2nd chair in the best band in school, the Jazz band. Normally girls don’t play the trumpet, but I did, and the 1st chair trumpet was also a girl. That was the best part. Judges always commented about that aspect of our Jazz Band.

I have been playing trumpet since, much to the annoyance of my family and friends. A few years ago my husband bought me a used trumpet. It is one of the most treasured things I own. I love to play it.

Thanks Marc!

Trumpet

IMG_0769

As an added bonus I have included this You tube video because this man has always been an icon for me, and I love to watch his cheeks puff up when he plays his trumpet:

R.I.P Louis Armstrong

August 4, 1901-July 6, 1971

8 Responses

  1. Wow what a beautiful instrument. The story is even more so wonderful; the ending – “thanks Marc “- well it brought a sentimental tear to these old eyes. Off to find tissue . . . . Great pics. Peace, Light and Love . . . CordieB.

  2. Totally love the detail on the first photograph. I love to see the brass section in an orchestra, but my heart lies with the strings.

  3. I’ve chosen to view everyone’s entries from work with no speakers…duh…..photos are cool…..my son played the trumpet for 2 years..wish he had kept it up….loved it…..will go home and listen to your youtube.

  4. I guess it is one of those things that not many people know about me…..

    iveystory- I played it in marching band for like the first 4 weeks, but I changed to tenor saxaphone because it was easier to carry. I always faked playing the tenor sax because I never did learn the fingering.

  5. You are a great trumpet player. Did you play the trumpet when you were in the marching band.

  6. I know you can sing, you never told me you played piano and the trumpet…guess it never came up in conversation.

  7. i also didnt know you played the trumpet 😮 wow! when i was in 6th grade i learned how to play the ukulele… prolly couldnt do it now if i tried. thats a nice lookin trumpet u got tho 🙂

  8. WOW! I had no idea you played the trumpet – how absolutely fabulous and cool! It’s a beautiful instrument and one I particularly love as I’m a jazz fan through and through.

    And Louis? He’s my hero too!

Leave a Reply

