How do you say good-bye?

Many of you may or may not have heard, my sister and brother and law are grieving right now. Here is a post from my brother in law explaining what is going on. The following is something that I need to write to the child, my nephew or niece which they lost.

Dear Little One,

We barely knew you. You came into our lives as a surprise but you grew in our hearts. Your mom and I put little tickers on our websites, and everyday I could go on the computer and see a model of what you looked like growing in your mommie’s tummy. Every week we could see you get bigger and more developed. Watching that model was like watching you grow daily. I looked forward to seeing you change and grow week to week.

Your mom and dad were excited to see you, to hold you, to love you. You were going to be born around the same time as your cousin, my son. We all loved you though we barely knew you. We still love you.

I am having a hard time trying to understand why you weren’t meant to be. Your mom, dad, sister, and brother are trying to understand why they never were able to hold you, touch you, feel you breathe against their skin. We all loved you in some little way. Your grandmother was even telling me what a blessing you were going to be to this family. We all were touched by your short presence in our lives.

While struggling with the why I began to remember another little angel who whispered on my heart. My brother or sister was also lost before we knew them. Growing up I always felt like there was a special angel in heaven watching over our family. Maybe you have even met that special angel.

 You are now in heaven watching over your family. Perhaps you can help make your mom smile. Maybe you will appear as the mischiveous look that your brother sometimes gives. Maybe you will be what makes your sister smile so big. You may even be the hope your daddy needs on days when life seems hopeless.

Wherever you appear to us, please know that you are part of our family. You are part of our lives. You always will be. As our hearts heal you will not be forgotten. We miss you dear child.

 

Love,

Auntie T.

5 Responses

  1. Just beautiful Tina. What a lovely thing to have done – to write a such a heartfelt letter. It moved me to tears. Hugs.

  2. So sorry for your family T.

    Hugs, hugs and more hugs.

  3. Oh T that was beautiful. I am so heartbroken for her. I can not imagine what it must be like to lose a child.

    Love to you all

  4. I am so sorry for the loss your family has suffered. Please give your sister an extra hug and know that you are all in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

