Photo Friday-Step Inside

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

photofriday.gif

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Step Inside

You can view other participants entries at:

Curious State of Affairs

blahblahblog-she’s back!

Just for fun

Curious C

Spatula Handle-my cousin!

Cordie B

Mrs. Nascar-my sister!

Eiain @ My Prozac Cocoon

This week we welcome Kevin Shane at Unlegal Alien!

I am really excited about this Photo Friday because we just moved into a new home. I started taking pictures of my favorite area in my home, but found that I wanted to take pictures of all of it. I ended up doing a whole slideshow with all the photos that you can find here:

I have to say though, that I am finding 3 different things my favorite in my home. I am really glad I get to share them with you:

#3My back Patio. I enjoy a cup of coffee on the weekends and watch the sunrise while doing my devotions. It is amazingly quiet, no distractions other than nature, and I feel closer to my Creator while being here:

Quiet Place

#2The Hutch in my dining/living room. This Hutch never meant much until we moved. I removed the stuff we had on it and replaced it with Red Crystal that my mom got from my grandmother. My grandma and I were always very close, and now that she has grown older she seems just a shell of who she used to be. I miss the vibrant, funny, full of life woman she once was. Her favorite color was red and she had red all over her home. This woman adored red. She had red velvet wallpaper, red everything. Putting her red dishes on that hutch brought back amazing memories for me and I feel like her presence is in our home every time I see her red dishes:

IMG_0488

IMG_0489

I discovered these dishes as well which my grandmother bought clear but used red nail polish on them to make them match the rest of her set. She was very frugal that way;

IMG_0490

#1The Old Man. My most favorite thing in my house is the “old man”. I had a good friend whose husband worked with wood in his shop. He made turned bowls and a million other things. He found driftwood along Arizona’s dry riverbanks and he whittled these faces into them. The first time I saw one I knew I HAD to have one. The old man has watched on his wall as my kids have grown, He was the witness to a disentgrating marriage, he moved to Arizona in the back of a U-Haul that the monster brought with him, he adjusted to Virginia, and now he sits on his own wall keeping watch over my living room. This is by far my most treasured piece in my home:

Old man

This is his face close up:
Old Carved Man

This is what he looks like on the wall:

IMG_0492

I hope you have enjoyed a trip through my favorite places in my home. I look forward to seeing your favorite places in your homes.

Please come back for the following Photo Friday’s:

19th September: CuriousCs choice – Food (a still life, or food growing on the allotment or in the garden, or  at the market, or in a shop, or your fave food on a plate, or any pic of food)

26th September: CuriousCs choice –  Colours (of Autumn)

3rd October: Eiain’s choice – Music (musicians, concerts, still life of musical instruments or musical  scores, musical boxes etc – I could go on and on …..) You may also like to add a YouTube clip of your favourite music!

10th October: Mrs Nascar’s choice – Night ( moon, stars or any interpretation of night)

17th October: CuriousCs choice Bridges / Arches

24th October: Eiain’s choice – Paws for thought

31st October: Author’s choice – Halloween!

7th November: Tina’s choice – Action Shots

8 Responses

  1. Congratulations on your new home. Everything looks just beautiful!

  2. Nice house, and I love the old man – its so unusual.

  3. I didn’t know grandma did that. The hutch looks very nice with her red glass on it. I really like the hutch. The wood carving is neat also, very unique. I want to sit on your deck and visit with you, it looks so peaceful.

  4. I like the photo of the old man that is so cool looking. And grandmas china. I know she loves red.

  5. I think the red nail polish fix was super cool. So is the old man. And the house looks wonderful. Awesome deck and view. I’m so happy for you guys. 😀

  6. What a fabulous narrration to go with the lovely pics of your new home. I loved the links with your grandmother and the nail varvish bit made me smile.

    It reminded me of my own maternal grandmother – I guess thrift was something they were used to in those days. Each year on her birthday I would buy he a beautiful bone china cup & saucer – but she would always kep them for best! They were still in perfect condition when she died. She never had a “best” occasion to use them.

    I’m so glad you love your new home – after all the worry you’ve had, you deserve a happy ending. Your home looks lovely.

  7. That’s a sweet deck.

Leave a Reply

