Sarah Palin’s daughter is a slut????

This weekend John McCain chose Gov. Sarah Palin as his running mate. It was a surprise choice, out of left field, but an absolutely brilliant choice.

Today, just two days later what is the top story? It is that Palin’s daughter Bristol is unwed and pregnant at 17.

I don’t regularly write about politics. I am not a McCain supporter. In fact, I am going to be putting up a post later this week with the name my children are now calling me… “Obama mama”.

I first heard about Bristol Palin’s pregnancy when I was cruising to some of my favorite sites, and I wandered to see what Perez had to say about the celebrities while I was offline. The top story was about the daughter. This is what he had to say:

Palin’s daughter, Bristol Palin (above), 17 years old, is pregnant.

The slutty teen is keeping the baby and plans to marry its father.

I know Perez can be pretty raunchy so I decided to let it go…

Until this morning on my way to work, riding in a van pool and the Sports Junkies local dee-jay’s were talking about it and they also were referring to Bristol Palin as a “slut”. The Sports Junkies have discussed their high school sex life before. They may have had a much more active sex life than Bristol Palin (it only takes one time) in highschool, yet they call HER a slut.

I understand the girl is 17 and she is pregnant. I understand that she is unwed. I understand that she has made some wrong choices…. Does it make her a slut?

Why isn’t anyone saying anything about the father who also is a teenager, unwed, and about to be a father? Why does this always fall on the girl?

I thought that as a society we were trying to move past the degradation of women. I thought that we were teaching our children to respect women.

I think what really gets me about this whole “scandal” is that if Bristol Palin had an abortion, no one would even know about her pregnancy and her “slutty” ways. She chose life. Because she chose life, she is a “slut”. If she had been on birth control she would not be called a “slut”. If her boyfriend had used a condom she would not be a “slut”. She could have been doing it with the whole football, baseball, and basketball team and had she not gotten pregnant, no one in the media would care about her sexual, promiscuious ways.

She chose life…. she used the freedom to CHOOSE life. That makes her a slut to society.

Here is the definition of the word slut:

1. a dirty, slovenly woman.

2. an immoral or dissolute woman; prostitute

Having sex as a teenager and getting pregnant is NOT included in the definition!!!

Bristol Palin is not trying to be the vice president of our country, her mother Sarah is. Sarah was not in the bedroom when Bristol Palin made her choices. The media needs to leave this child alone. She is going through enough without having the media in her pants.

I do not think Bristol Palin is a slut. I think she is probably a scared teen who made a bad choice. I want to reach out and give this child a hug because she has a giant spotlight shining down on her for a moments indiscretion.

26 Responses

  1. My apologies for deleting some of the Palin posts. They generated a lot of traffic but John and Sarah lost and I got tired of yelling about Sarah when she is no longer the most far right threat, Newt declared war, trashing Newt is now more fun and the focus?
    http://dummidumbwit.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/examination-of-the-repulican-party-from-the-leftcenter/

  2. Sorry, but this girl dropped her panties for a guy when they first started dating. She was 5 mos pregnant and they’d only been dating for 5 mos at the time. What does that say about her morals? Of course, most teens don’t have morals these days, so why expect her to? Teen pregnancies were down for the last 5-10 years and now they’re going back up again since c. 2007. Also, STI rates are increasing in their age group, higher than they were when 20+ people were kids. This is the “bad generation” — kids born from about 1989/1990 to the mid 90s. It could always have been worse… at least she’s not addicted to drugs and smoking and pregnant. Count your blessings that it’s not a crack baby.

    • I TOTALLY agree that this society of young people today is DISGRACEFUL to say the least. It doesn’t just fall onto the woman, NO way. I was a teenager in the 80s and my parents taught me right from wrong as soon as I started menstruating and I NEVER had a problem. I had boyfriends and lots of dates but I also had sense and morals. I knew that if I came home pregnant that I would DISGRACE my parents and I wasn’t about doing that. I love and Respect my parents totally even now at age: 41 and I never wanted them to look down on me. This is the problem nowadays that so many parents are so BUSY working for a bunch of material junk that the kids aren’t getting the love and attention that they need anymore. I blame POOR parenting skills for todays society but I know and I’m very PROUD that I’m raising my 2 kids properly with my husband of now 15 years. I STAY at home with my kids, NO DAYCARES.

  3. I had to reply to Mike huff’s reply, I agree they should leave Bristol out of this and no one should criticize her for any of her decisions, But , I sure hope you are wrong that she (her mom, Sarah) will be the next vice president of this fine country. This has deteriated since Mr Bush has had his finger in the cookie jar and we don’t need a clone of Bush for another 4 years. As far as Pro-life I am very much in favor of overturning Roe V. Wade, but this election is more than 1 issue to decide who should reside at the White house.
    Thank you.

  4. Not a slut. But certainly not a good idea for the country’s teenagers.
    Our leaders should be held to a slightly higher standard of respect and consideration. Sarah Palin accepted the VP invitation to be famous. The sickening situation our country is in has us as a nation more interested in her dress than her morals.
    I hope that an illegitimate child in the white house, and probably another (since her other daughter is a bit promiscuose, too) may help the foster care administrators get a little funding. Her daughter will have the nation watching out for her her child, what about the struggling teenager who has sex with her teacher and finds herself abandoned. Maybe Ms. Palin can send her a few dollars so she could at least get an abortion so she can finish school.

  5. Ok, fine. Hug?
    lol! And for the record, I do not want to hug her for getting pregnant and all that… Just because it must really suck to be in the spotlight like this right now. I do NOT condone teenage pregnancy

  6. waaaa,” I want to reach out and give this child a hug because she has a giant spotlight shining down on her for a moments indiscretion.”- I guess she should have thought about that. Seriously, she knew her mothers job was high profile, I don’t feel sorry for her, she suffered the consequences of her actions, do I think she’s a slut? No. I think she’s irresponsible and if you have 5 kids the chances of one being wild and irresponsible are high. Do I think she will learn from this? Most definitely, resounding- YES. Odds are, although wild and irresponsible she’s probably pretty spunky like her mom and it’s pretty likely that she’s a survivor. But I don’t think she needs any hugs from us.
    Some of us are huggers and some of us are not. I am. You are not.

  7. Fair enough…expressing opinions is what discussions are made of….and, for the record i don’t consider unwed teen moms (or unwed moms of any age) sluts…and although i am a liberal’…and yes, pro choice… i personally would choose life….

    and not to miss the point of your post…it is really unfortunate that all this is playing out in the press…’public life’ really isn’t just about one person in the family anymore…nothing seems to be off limits to the media anymore…
    That is the problem with stereotypes, most people actually don’t fit in the box you try to place them in…and I agree, nothing is off limits in the media and it is sad.

  8. OK, let’s say a 17 year old goes out and steals a car. He drinks and drives and kills an entire family. He has a history of reckless offenses and the judge sentences him to 20 years in an adult prison.

    Evidently this kid is at the age of accountability?

    Now, a 17 year old girl with hormones racing thinks she is deeply in love enough to go all the way with her perfect boyfriend ~ suddenly the media is all over it and the parents are to blame?
    And the best point yet goes to you… very awesome observation… Of course if that same kid was a child of a possible vice president, I think some blame would go to the parent in the media.

  9. Wouldn’t you love to be in Sarah Palin’s brain right now…do you think she might be having just a teensy struggle with some her publicly declared stances….or not?

    And JMO here…it’s always seemed to me that the Christian pro-life types are the ones who also tut-tut and whisper about the sins of un-wed mothers…now that’s what i call hypocritical…

    Bristol is simply living proof of the stances her mother may have taught her… she got pregnant and chose life. Simple.
    I have met many Christian pro-life types who have faced this same situation…and chose life. I know they have the reputation of tut-tutting it, but in my opinion, it seems to be the liberals that are calling Bristol a “slut” and condeming her for her actions…not the conservatives. Just my opinion though

  10. http://dummidumbwit.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/attacking-emotion-with-emotion-is-probably-self-defeating/

    I’m sorry, you can’t tell from the previous link, but I strongly disagree with attacking the poor young girl, the other link is the correct way just a question, the attacks on the girl should cease, they are shameful.
    Thanks for clearing that up

  11. http://dummidumbwit.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/famous-assembly-of-god-pentatcostals/

    This attack is so easy, it’s a no-brainer!!!

    Ummm…. Ok then….

  12. Bravo. Great post. Greats points. I agree with you 100%.

    Thanks Spidey!!!

  13. People keep saying to leave Bristol Palin and her pregnancy out the media and out of the story about John McCain’s vice presidential pick. While I’m against personal attacks on Bristol Palin, the fact is, her pregnancy has brought to light important information about Sarah Palin’s views on abortion and sex education. Sarah Palin’s views on those topics are extreme: She believes in only abstinence-only sex education, and she believes that women and girls who are victims of rape or incest and who get pregnant that way should bring their babies to term. Without this story about Bristol Palin’s pregnancy, the American electorate might not have discovered this information about Sarah Palin’s extreme views. And the American electorate needs to know this information to make an informed choice in the upcoming election. Whether you like it or not, Bristol’s pregnancy *is* a part of the discussion and needs to be.
    My issue is with how she is being portrayed as a “slut” because she is 17 and pregnant

  14. I understand what you’re saying about the unfairness of people calling Bristol Palin a slut. You’re right. It’s totally unfair and unnecessary. However, I take issue when you write that Bristol Palin chose life. Bristol Palin didn’t choose life. Her mother Sarah Palin did.

    Technically neither of us really know who chose what… we weren’t there when that conversation or decision took place

  15. Why does she have to be a scared teen who made a bad choice? What if she liked getting laid and woops it happened?

    heh that is very possible…

  16. when are we going to grow up? our fascination w other people’s sex lives is SO adolescent. with our economy in the tank, the chinese buying up our real estate, the iranians rattling their weapons, and the russians ramping up for another cold war, what the @#$% are we doing worrying about some teenager in alaska? and how many of the people calling this child a “slut” purport to believe in God? if so, they’d better remember the warning to judge not and avoid throwing stones.
    I couldn’t have said it better myself!

  17. Great post.

    I think the republicans should come out and simply say, leave Bristol alone, she could be carrying the next Obama or President since Obama’s mom was un-wed and had him at 18, maybe that would shut them up?

    @ Katharine – You’re ignorant of the “family values” crowd and you just showed how ignorant you apparently are.

    You are absolutly right… was Obama’s mom a “slut” as well for getting pregnant and keeping him?

  18. The name calling is absolutely uncalled for and who are we to judge?….Nobody is perfect!

    Let he with no sin cast the first stone…

  19. I agree that calling Bristol Palin a slut — particularly while remaining silent about her child’s father — is out of line. She’s just stupid. If one of Obama’s of Biden’s daughters were 17 and pregnant, you’d never hear the end of it from the “family values” crowd. They’d say it’s all because Mom didn’t stay at home to look after her family. I find it ironic that Gov. Palin would deny other women the right to make the choice she had, to give birth to a disabled child, or make the choice her daughter had to give birth to a child without being an adult, married, educated, or employed. That is if Bristol’s parents allowed her a choice.
    I believe there are hypocrites in every human gathering…

  20. I had too many friends who got pregnant as teens to judge ANY 17-year-old for having the same happen to them.

    Calling her a “slut” is just completely unfair and uncalled for.

    Absolutely!

  21. Some times it seems you think you have heard every stupid thing and then you read the message bristol palin is a slut,it just shows the ignorance of some people, who are you to judge anothers actions ,she is a teenager ,who has the rest of her life ahead of her and just because she is with child you insult her and brand her for life, what you should do is commend her for not taking the easy way out choosing to love and raise this child this tells me that she is a woman with alot of love to give,and just because her mother is going to be the next vice president of the united states she becomes a target for every crack pot out there.why do you not stick to debateing the points of the canidates and leave this poor family alone,every body has made mistakes and if you say you have not then you are a liar,leave bristol alone and let her enjoy being a mother, it is her mother running for office not her, she is going to get married and even if she decides not to what business is it of yours,and incase you have forgotten haveing a baby makes you a mother not a slut. and by the way i served my country so you have the freedom to say what you want as long as i have the same freedom to tell you to shut up. and to bristol and her family i deeply am sorry for has been said and please be reassured we are all not that narrow minded . and becarefull obama mama in 4 years bristols mom just might be the next and first woman president.

    Wow Mike, next time read the post and not just the title!!! We agree on this point lol

  22. Couldnt have said it better! Kudos

    Thanks Jamie!

  23. Obama said that everyone’s family should be off limits to the campaign and media.

    I just hope his election commitee gets the same message

    Unfortunatly it is an election year which means mud slinging from every direction

  24. Ok— the issue is that she’s the VP candidate’s daughter. Yes, the damning reaction does reveal some bigotry on the part of the American public.

    HOWEVER, if Palin can’t even “enforce” her “family values” at home, how can she possibly live up to her idealism on behalf of the country?? Seems pretty hypocritical, ja?

    I do feel sorry for the girl, but such irresponsible (and very human) behavior in the limelight (YES, being a senator’s daughter at the time of conception is a big PR deal) begets public criticism of the family, amplified by the Senator’s declamations of propriety in life.

    I never said it wasn’t an issue that she was pregnant… my issue is that they are calling her names for becoming a mother….regardless of how old she is she shouldn’t be called a slut

Leave a Reply

