I feel like an Olympian…

I have decided that I want to run a 5k race this spring. It is my goal and something I decided I am going to start training for. I read an article at work that I can start by walking for 30 min. Then add running for one minute and walk for seven minutes. When that is easy then start running (jogging) two minutes and walk six minutes. Keep building up until you are running for the full 30 minutes. It takes about 30 minutes to run 5k. Keep building your times.

Today I started with running a minute and walking seven. It was tougher than I thought it would be, but according to my heart rate monitor I burned 777 calories (My average meal is about 500 calories!).

The last run Ms. Artistic who was with me pushed me to sprint. She was actually surprised her momma could run that fast!!!

I couldn’t talk when I got home, because I was so winded, but I feel AWESOME!!!!!!! That was the first time I RAN in nearly 10 years!!!!!!

Now, where is my gold medal?

4 Responses

  1. You are such an inspiration. Not only do you feel awesome, you sound awesome too. You’re getting me all psyched up. Somebody get this girl a gold medal. 😉

  2. I’m still getting a free bananna split

  3. Wow hun – color me impressed!

    Before you know it neither you or CatJuggler will be blogging at all because he’ll b too bz ravishing you skinny self

    LOL

  4. I’ll make you one ok? I am glad you are setting goals for yourself…I need to start doing that, but I have to go get checked out and see what’s going on with my hip before I start doing anything. Go, Tall Chick! (smiles)

Leave a Reply

