The “8” days

I remember 8/8/88 very vividly. I was a teenager. I worked at a summer camp in Arizona. I was working as a “Leader in Training” there the whole summer. My mom called the camp to give me some news that would change my life forever. She told me that our family would be moving to Virginia. I was happy at the news yet a little scared. I would leave my highschool and it would be my first time living in a new place away from the desert. I remember thinking, I will never forget 8/8/88.

Today is 8/8/08. 20 years have passed. I am married now and I have three children. I live in Virginia. Our home just went into foreclosure. It is a new beginning and today, 8/8/08 we signed a lease for a home to rent. It is a bigger home (four bedrooms) and it is a split level. The backyard is a hill that goes down into a creek. The subdivision has a swimming pool that the kids are going to have access to. There is a 2 car garage. This house is nearly our dream home. The kicker? We are paying $800.00 less a month for this home. Life is good. My husband wrote a beautiful post about it today too.

It seems these 8’s represent change in my life. Big change, moving type changes. I am glad, and I feel my life has come full circle.

7 Responses

  1. Eights always remind me of the symbol for infinity.

  2. Your new house sounds awesome 🙂 I can’t wait to see pictures of it. It sounds like things are really looking up for you guys.

  3. I am sooo happy for you….don’t forget to send me your new address. When do you move? I have something to send to Baby Girl for her birthday…need to know where your going to be so I can mail it.

  4. What wonderful news – every cloud has a silver lining! You deserve some good luck. 🙂

  5. What’s this “we” talk. 😛 Congratulations on the new place.

  6. Wow, what a trip. Time to buy a lottery ticket. 😉 Congrats on the new home and positive attitude. 🙂 Lemonade any one?

    Just think Peter, you were one of the friends I left behind…. I have known you 21 years!!! God we’re getting old!

  7. I am happy that you found a place. cant want to see the house. Send photo when you can.

Leave a Reply

