I have the POWER!!!

I want to apologize to my daily readers for the lack of updates.

My life has become all about electricity the past few days. On Monday, a horrific thunderstorm rolled through and the lights went out at work, but the generators kicked in by the time we went home. When I got home, all the power was out at my house and all through the houses around us.

The electric company trucks were parked outside our neighbors home with their flashing lights. I figured they would start figuring out what was wrong. An hour later one of their trucks came rolling past my house with a whole transformer on it.

I knew it would be a while until we got power. Luckily the Cat Juggler had enough sense to buy pizzas for dinner to eat. We decided to go pick out paint colors for our home for a summer project and wait for the power to come on.

When we got home 2 hours later, the electric company truck was parked by my neighbors home again, and they were working on the transformer IN MY BACKYARD!

They said it had been hit by lightning earlier in the day and knocked out a whole power grid!

We sat outside for a while watching them pull the old one out and put the new one in. Then the bugs started biting. I went in and went to bed. I was awoken at 2am by a bright light shining throughout the house. They finally had it fixed!

I went to work bright and early yesterday and started working on a facilitation guide. I was about an hour into it when the whole place went black. 10 minutes later a man came running through and told everyone to turn off their computer. We sat like that for nearly 2 hours. Then, another man came running through the sections and told us to evacuate the building. It was nearly 11 am.

We waited outside, it looked like it was going to start raining so Security started to send people inside, but then we were told to take an hour lunch and come back and see how it was.

I stayed and a few minutes later, power was restored, however, my computer and phone lines were still down. They finally decided to allow us all to leave early. They didn’t think it would be fixed in time for us to get any work done, and they were right. You can read about it here.

Cat Juggler was off yesterday so we decided to utilize the time to go out for the first time in nearly a year as a family to dinner. Then the Cat Juggler surprised me by letting me pick out a new camera (because I destroyed my old one when I fell over Memorial Day weekend). I am still enamoured with the new camera and I can’t wait to try it out when I am done with this post. I have to try to capture a sunset =)

Today I had to work overtime to make up for lost work yesterday. Sorry for my lack of posts.

Hope you all are having a great week!

3 Responses

  1. How are you? Seldom come to here, but view your post at Google reader…

    Hope everything are fine at yourside!!

    Good to see ya Alan…keep on coming back to visit! Things are good… how are you doing?

  2. So what kind of camera did you get? Details lady 🙂

    Glad you’ve got power again. It’s too hot here to go without A/C for too long….or so I think anyway.

    I got a Cannon PowerShot A590… I am in love with it! It was very hot sleeping that night!

  3. I’m sorry to hear you took a fall and that your old camera bit the dust. Glad to hear of the new camera and that you are doing ok. Ugly weather you guys are having around there. Nothing but hot, Hot, HOT sunny days here in Arizona.

    ***SIGH*** I miss AZ

Leave a Reply

