To the Unsung hero’s- Stepfathers

Today my husband has to go to work. He doesn’t get the day off because of Father’s Day. By the time he gets home, our three children will be off with their own dad celebrating Father’s Day with him…despite the fact that he is around them less than 3% of their lives.

My husband’s story isn’t the only one like it. Stepfathers have had such a horrible reputation for years. This came about because so many stepfathers were trying to have sex with their step children.

But what about the good step fathers? What about the ones who walk into the lives of a frazzled, struggling, single mom and agree to help raise her children without question? The ones who are there when a boo-boo needs to be kissed? The ones who are there night after night helping with homework? The ones who are there coaching the games after work?

Stepfathers play a huge role in the lives of the kids they raise. They take on the father role that their biological father decided to give up. They are the ones who sacrifice for children that are not even theirs biologically.

The Cat Juggler has been my children’s father since the day he walked back into my life. For that I am forever grateful. I am sorry he gets cheated every year on Father’s Day because the monster insists on spending it with the kids.

So for you Cat Juggler, here is a video and lyrics to a song that we all dedicate to you and to all the step fathers out there. You are all Hero’s in my book.

When a single mom goes out on a date with somebody new
It always winds up feeling more like a job interview
My momma used to wonder if she’d ever meet someone
Who wouldn’t find out about me and then turn around and run

I met the man I call my dad when I was five years old
He took my mom out to a movie and for once I got to go
A few months later I remember lying there in bed
I overheard him pop the question and prayed that she’d say yes

And then all of a sudden
Oh, it seemed so strange to me
How we went from something’s missing
To a family
Lookin’ back all I can say
About all the things he did for me
Is I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be

I met the girl that’s now my wife about three years ago
We had the perfect marriage but we wanted somethin’ more
Now here I stand surrounded by our family and friends
Crowded ’round the nursery window as they bring the baby in

And now all of a sudden
It seemed so strange to me
How we’ve gone from something’s missing
To a family
Lookin’ through the glass I think about the man
That’s standin’ next to me
And I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be

Lookin’ back all I can say
About all the things he did for me
Is I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be

Yeah, I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be
Because he didn’t have to be
You know he didn’t have to be

5 Responses

  1. as a stepdad “Thanks”!

  2. It takes a lot to take somebody’s else’s responsibility on your shoulders. CJ is a true hero and I guess your kids as they grow up would understand what all he has done to make your’s and their’s life better. Also, I feel it’s easier to become a father but it’s difficult to become dad.

    Happy Father’s Day CJ. You are a great dad 🙂

    I thing they are staring to get the idea… He is an amazing Dad and missed the diapers. Lucky him!

  3. Yes, Happy Father’s Day to CJ!

    How was your Fathers Day?

  4. Great song, I’d never heard it before. The song coupled with your words made for a real heart string pulling, tear jerking experience. I hope you wished CJ a Happy Father’s Day for me, and if not, DO IT!!! 😉

    Didn’t mean to make you cry PP

  5. Nice to remember the unsung Dads. My children send P (my husband) and their (stepdad) a Father’s day card every year. It was never suggested to them – it sort of evolved over the years.

    The first year, nothing. The 2nd year a Father’s Day card with the word “Step” and a little arrow pointing to the space before father.

    The 3rd year – no arrow! By then P was as good as any father. He hadn’t gone in all guns roaring, he was just there (quietly in the background) when they needed him. He never let them down.

    They’ve never looked back. He sees them a his family, they see him the same way.

    Interestingly, P’s two biological sons never send him a father’s Day card (or Christmas or birthday card either – they’re too wrapped up in their own lives to bother) and my boys choose not to send their biologocal father a card – because he doesn’t bother with them much either.

    What a funny mix of a society we are these days! But, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – a real Dad need not be a biological father. And biological fathers sometimes don’t act like, or deserve to be dads.

    Hope the juggler is spoiled rotten by the kids when he gets back from work.

    Ms. Artistic decided to stay home with the Cat Juggler that afternoon… They up and went to an amusement park for the day on Monday. They came back burnt and happy. Can’t ask for more!

Leave a Reply

