Photo Friday 6/6/2008

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

photofriday.gif

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Diptych

You can view other participants entries at:

Curious State of Affairs

blahblahblog

Just for fun

Curious C

Cordie B

I can sure say that Photo Friday is increasing my vocabulary tremendously. I have learned so many amazing words by posting every week. This week I learned that Diptychs is a pair of pictures or carvings on two panels, usually hinged together.

One of the places I found on my journey to understanding this word was to this Flickr site. That got my creative juices really flowing.

When we were in Michigan, I took this picture of a tree that is called “The Brain Tree” in Grand Rapids Michigan. With a little Photo Shop I was able to change the colors of one of the trees. I like to think it looks like the tree in fall and in spring. If it were art I would say it represents my girls, both coming from the same roots, looking very similar, but being very different in their personality and what they show to the world. This is my final result:

I had so much fun doing that one, I wanted to do another one. This time I chose the subject of my husband and I. We have known each other for over 20 years now. We were not always together during this time (my kids belong to my first husband), but we have loved each other for this long.

I found a picture of us at my first prom. Then I found a picture of us in Michigan. I hate the picture of us now because the Cat Juggler looks like his head explodes into the sky… but his darn hair turned white on me early lol. (I think the white hair is sexy too!) Anyway I put the two photos together to represent the span of time we have loved one another through thick and thin (unfortunately for us it has been more thick than thin lol). So without further ado:

7 Responses

  1. It’s funny that tree is called The Brain Tree, because that’s what your picture made me think of when I first saw it, the two hemispheres of the brain. The second one is great too, showing how you two have grown even closer over time. Your heads are actually stuck together now. 😛 Ha! Very sweet. Congratulations to both of you for getting a passing grade on the test of time. 😉

  2. I love it!

    Hope you enjoy your vacation!! I will miss ya when your gone.

  3. Wow Sky. That first picture is very artistic. It’s cool. And it’s wonderful how you compare it to the personalities of your daughters – fall and spring. I know of what you’re speaking of. The second one is most sentimental – and to think you guys found each other again. Such a beautiful love story. I love love stories. Thanks for sharing.
    Peace, Light and Love,
    CordieB.

    http:cordiebpics.wordpress.com

    Cordie B I think we are sisters at heart, we have so much in common.

  4. The first picture is just neat, clear, you have used perfect colours- all in beautiful.

    The 2nd picture is Aww so cute.:) Both of you have aged beautifully and the best part is that both of you look so much in love after so many years also.

    Thank you so much scratchbags. Many years ago my parents did not approve of him either… funny how time changes things. Now my parents love him dearly. Thought I would never see the day.

  5. […] Fun effects of color and what it all reminds her of, see Tall Chick Tales exhibit. […]

  6. Yes, our vocabulary just keeps building! I love not only the colors of the Brain Tree but your explanation of what it means to you!

    and the ones of you and the hub are really nice. I agree with Jan’s comments about how much more serene you look.

    Isn’t it interesting that you and Jan’s Photo Friday exhibits could be classified as portraying journeys of time and love?

    I was thinking that very thing when I saw Jan’s photo Friday. I love your ocean one… everyone should take a look at it.

  7. Hi Tina,

    WOW! The dyptich tree is amazing. Everything about it super; the colour, the texture – I just love it. And what it represents for you is also just lovely – the same, but different, like the girls.

    The second set of dyptichs is just wonderful – what a story, how lovely, spanning two decades of love. My how young you look in that first pic. And now – you can still see the love and togetherness all these years later – more relaxed now, more self assured, more confident.

    Wonderful entries.

    I am glad you like them Jan. It was fun this week and I want to more!

Leave a Reply

