Pretty Ballerina (tornado) Clouds

Today at work the sky turned green and the rain came down sideways. Then it cleared up by the time my two hour commute home started. I made it all the way to the exit to get off the interstate when my kids called me and told me there was a tornado warning in our county.

I told them to get in the bathtub and put a mattress over them. I took a look at the sky and snapped the following photos with my phone.

This cloud was twisting above my home. The trees to the left are where my home is located.

Luckily, at this time, everyone is OK. Scared, but out of the bathtub and listening to thunder and lightning. My photos made the front page of a local news station. I would provide a link, but my name is on the photos.

My husband is making his way home now.

6 Responses

  1. […] UpdateSticks and stones may break my bones, but words can always hurt mePhoto Friday 07/18/2008Pretty Ballerina (tornado) CloudsCancer in the News- Michael TurnerCancer in the news- RotationplastyHe’s BAAAAAAAAAACK!Monday MeBaby […]

  2. Fabulous pics. I’ve never seen a real live tornado.

    My mother’s dog was apparently swept away by one when she was a child though – but we don’t get them often in the UK.

    I’m thrilled your pics got in the paper!

  3. I am happy you are all ok. We had a tornado follow us from St. Louis, Mo to Champayne, Illinois. It was terrifying. We had to stop and let it pass us. We were on our way to the family reunion…I think that tornado is what caused the power to go out in Gilman. Remember visiting with family by candle light?
    I do remember that reunion and you all telling us about that tornado. We saw one touch down that time too….

  4. I am so glad everyone is safe and sound!!!
    we had to eat supper in the bathtub with a mattress on our heads… but we were safe that’s for sure

  5. Pretty neat but scary. I saw one once. When you see them, it makes you feel very……. unstable
    lol unstable…. that is good word for how I was feeling at that moment…

  6. Spooky! I have never seen a tornado, but driving all over the country it’s just a matter of time. 😐
    I think you are a tornado PP

Leave a Reply

