Photo Friday: Amazing Architecture

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

Photo Friday

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Amazing Architecture

You can view other participants entries at:

Curious State of Affairs

blahblahblog

Just for fun

Curious C

This week’s Photo Friday had me a bit perplexed. Architecture is not really my thing, and I don’t take a whole lot of photos of Architecture. Looking through my portfolio, I had none. I started wracking my brain and started looking around me. I wondered what I could take a picture of. I got a few of an old courthouse, then an old church… but it wasn’t what I wanted. Then my husband Cat Juggler reminded me of a beautiful building that was just built last year. The National Museum of the United States Marine Corp found in Quantico VA, about 30 miles from my home.

They designed the building to look like the soldiers raising the flag at Iwo Jima. It was designed to look like hands rasing the flag. I think they did a pretty good job! The next photo is not my own…just to give you an idea of what I am talking about:

Here are the photos I took of this amazing building. See if the building below looks like the picture above to you:

Taken from the parking lot

View from the Interstate

As your walking inside

View from the inside…. AMAZING!!!

This is an amazing Museum, and an amazing feat of Architecture. If you are ever going through Quantico VA, I strongly suggest you take a moment to stop and see this museum. While your there say a prayer for a soldier who is fighting in the war. This museum is located right off of I-95.

7 Responses

  1. sending you an email… much to talk about

  2. Love that building…Semper Fi!!

  3. Cool building. Never even seen pictures of it before. I can see it is something I need to add to my list, in addition to Madrid! 🙂 I didn’t really mean to have churches as a theme AT ALL! Those were simply the buildings that jumped out at me! Excellent pictures again this week!

  4. I remember seeing this place of my way through Virginia last year and wondering to myself “what the heck is that?” and now I know. Pretty cool looking place. Thanks. 😉

  5. I’ve been waiting all week to see these shots. Excellent work, honey.

  6. What a fabulous piece of modern architecture – thanks for sharing it. It makes me want to visit it!

    I love the inside shot especially – those wonderful angles and the glass …

Leave a Reply

