Photo Friday 06/20/2008

PHOTO FRIDAY

(click above for more information)

photofriday.gif

Today’s Photo Friday entry is entitled: Midsummers Night Dream

You can view other participants entries at:

Curious State of Affairs

blahblahblog

Just for fun

Curious C

Cordie B

This week the topic is Midsummers Night Dream. I have been trying to capture lightning bugs around my home, but unfortunately, They stop lighting their butts when I snap the photo. I am especially excited this week because I got a new camera this week.

I fell pretty hard over Memorial Day weekend and my camera was in my hand (I was taking a picture of a scenic point and tripped up the curb…go figure). The digital display got cracked and goo bled out of the display screen. The camera still works, but you can’t see what picture you took until you insert it into your computer.

I can’t work that way. I got a new Canon Powershot A590 a huge step up for me from the Nikon Coolpix 2000 I have been using.

I have been trying to figure out WHAT to use…so I went to the source of this topic.

Jan at A Curious State of Affairs added this to the description;

(photographic manipulation, use of photographic gadgets and digital trickery is all par for the course!)

OK… that I can do!

While playing with my camera on a midsummer night, this shot was taken of my eyeball:

I like this photo, but I started playing with the editing tools on Photobucket.

First I used the paint tool and got this, which is a neat effect:

Then I used the neon feature, and this is how it turned out:

I liked it so much, I made it my new avatar. I wish I had some photos of fairies… but I will pretend this is an eye of a fairy…

In the meantime I am off to a camping trip with my kids and my mom for the weekend. This is a camp for kids with cancer and their families. I will be sure to take my camera along for the ride.

Stay tuned for:

27th June: My Choice: Sunrise/ Sunset

4th July: CuriousC’s choice: Traditions

8 Responses

  1. ha ha ! thank you Tall T 🙂

    your welcome 😉

  2. Great effect – It has the coloring of a midsummer night’s dream! You’ve got a super cool avatar ! I really like that idea – I might just try it myself. Thanks for sharing! PLL, CordieB.

    Cordie, your amazing with your photo manipulations. I am awed every time I see what you have done…

  3. I like the eye pic that is cool. i got a new camera on feb 14 i had it for 2 mos and the kids broke it. so now i am useing my video camera to take pics.

    lisa

    I miss seeing the pics and videos on your blog…. I hope you do that again.

  4. I gasped! LOVE the effect! It sort of looks like a fish,tho, to me – and that is good – fish symbols have good prosperity vibes. Have fun camping. and have fun with the new camera. I think I need to go take a class…
    That’s funny, my kids thought it looked like a fishes mouth open wide… I guess I can kinda see it.

  5. Tina, you have an EYE for things. Loved your avatar. Happy Camping, and get loads of pics for us.:)I remember you asked Fracas about adding bookmarks in the post but I think she couldn’t get time to reply because of her daughter. I found this page where they have explained about adding buttons in lucid manner. I tried doing it myself, and it worked. Here is the link- http://archgfx.net/blog/2006/geek/blogging/social-bookmarks-on-wordpresscom

    Have a Happy Weekend:)

    You are officially my hero… I have been asking around about this for a while. I will take time to read it when I get back. Thanks for the info! Have a great weekend yourself! I can’t wait to see more pictures from India!

  6. You have the most beautiful eye color. 😀 Pretty cool avatar you have there. When I fell down and busted my ass no one got me a new camera. Life is so unfair. 😛 Looking forward to new pics from the camping trip. Enjoy.

    😳 Thanks for the compliment! I would love to see some funny pics from you…what an idea….

  7. Hi Tina,

    Your new camera sounds great so I’m looking forward to seeing what you can do with it. I use a Nikon Coolpix S550!

    The eye is a pretty cool pic too!

    Thanks, sorry this week I kinda bummed out on the topic, but with the new camera I hope I can do better!

Leave a comment